About MENU

Business and Finance

Business and Finance is responsible for managing the overall accounting, treasury, financial reporting, and financial services of West Virginia State University.  This includes managing internal controls to mitigate risks; creating and presenting financial reports to internal and external parties; ensuring the accounting records of the University are up-to-date and accurate; and safeguarding the assets of the University to minimize the risk of financial loss. Our role is to provide ethical, efficient, and effective services to our students, faculty, and staff.  Business and Finance supports the University’s core functions of instruction, research and community services through stewardship of financial, human resources, and administrative services.

image-up-arrowimage-down-arrowAbout Us
The University Budget Office supports the University’s leaders and its strategic planning processes by providing objective, accurate and timely information, analysis and advice to inform the decision-making and resource allocation process.  In addition, the Budget Office is responsible for coordinating all aspects of the development, allocation, processing and monitoring of the University’s annual budget.
image-up-arrowimage-down-arrowForms
image-up-arrowimage-down-arrowMission Statement
The mission of the WVSU Budget Office is to develop and maintain the budget for all funds of the University, and to analyze and project budget information in order to provide decision support for the University’s Administration, Board of Governors, as well as for the Higher Education Policy Commission.

Our Team

Mark
Mark Akers
Bookstore Manager
(304) 766-3351
akersm@wvstateu.edu
Kristi
Kristi  Williams
Interim Vice President of Business & Finance
(304) 766-3026
kwilliams41@wvstateu.edu
Alan
Alan  Skidmore
Director of Information Technology
(304) 720-3900
alan.skidmore@wvstateu.edu
Natasha
Natasha Tyson
Executive Administrative Assistant
(304) 766-3061
business.finance@wvstateu.edu
Justin
Justin Cherry
Director of Human Resources
(304) 766-3156
justin.cherry@wvstateu.edu
Chief Joseph
Chief Joseph  Saunders
Director of Public Safety
(304) 766-3353
saundejs@wvstateu.edu
Peter
Peter  Smith
Controller, Fiscal Affairs
(304) 204-4056
psmith25@wvstateu.edu
Dayton
Dayton Wilson
Interim Director of Physical Facilities
(304) 766-3181
dayton.wilson@wvstateu.edu

Melvin Jones

Kristi  Williams
Interim Vice President of Business & Finance
(304) 766-3026
kwilliams41@wvstateu.edu
Scroll to Top